Jeff Frees 

Victory NSS Series Finals at Byron Dragway

Berens Repeats at Champion

The Victory NSS Series was held its sixth and final event of the 2014 season at Byron (Ill.) Dragway on October 4-5 during their 20th annual World Power Wheel Standing Championship. Although Saturday started off cold and rainy, the 29 Victory racers present were able to get two Qualifying passes in thanks to great work by the Byron track crew.

When the smoke cleared from qualifying, first year racer Corimac Frees earned the #1 position. The Wisconsin native was coming off a win at his hometown track the previous weekend and was looking to double-up. With the weather conditions and limited number of qualifying runs available, the decision was made to set the ladder off of Reaction Times and the young Frees pulled off a perfect .000 light!

Russ Berens and his ’67 Hemi Plymouth.

The second position went to points leader Russ Berens. His .019 reaction time was enough to make history in two ways. For the first time in Victory series history, the championship was decided before the start of eliminations at the final race. Two times it was decided at the final round and once we even had to have the championship decided with a run-off race. Berens’ #2 qualifying position gave him enough points to secure the championship, making him the first two-time Victory Champion.