and the AMC Gremlin of James McCall. In fact James’s car not only carried the perfect colors for July 4th weekend, the El Paso machine runs low 10 seconds at 140 mph.

At the recent Tucson (AZ) Dragway Reunion in May, Steve McNeal brought his Duster all the way from Albuquerque to the fray and made the semi-finals in the Nostalgia Bracket. The ‘Public Nuisance’ was in the thick of things at Albuquerque but failed to make the finals.


Pro Bracket was taken down by Mike Perea in a Mustang at 10.05 and 131.96 mph while the Sportsman category was property of Code Baca on this night at 10.99 and 115.62.


Jrs’ Firecracker title went to B. Boogle over A. Branden.


To close the show, two jet cars made an explosive finale for the huge crowd and set the stage for more July fireworks. The race was well run by track manager Jim Reidel and crew who included 2015 WFA Champ, Lyle Greenburg

Andy Wiles got permission from Arlen VankeAkron Arlen’ and restored this ’72 Pro Stock Duster as a tribute clone. Arlen had agreed to come to Albuquerque and drive the tribute car, but passed away recently. Andy proudly supports the Mopar Lounge in Albuquerque at which is written on the driver’s window in lieu of his name.

Since the ‘Demon’ for 2017 was just introduced and not yet at dealerships, Tony Avilez brought his ‘Hellcat’ to the party. The 800+horsepower beast could really smoke the tires during burnouts.

All the MOPARS at the race were not Challengers nor Dusters; the 1936 altered coupe of Anthony Vargas attests to that…

as does the Ram truck of Doug Peterson


mopar memos The latest news, rumours & Info!



On an early summer weekend July 1, to celebrate the Nation’s birthday, Albuquerque Dragway presented the ‘FIRECRACKER NATIONALS’. The multigrid race included: Fuel Altereds, Outlaw Door Slammers, Big $$$ Brackets in Super Pro, Pro and Sportsman, plus Jr. Dragsters.


The fuel altered contingent was from the WFA (Western Fuel Altered) group and they did not disappoint. When the smoke cleared after the final, Arizona’s Gregg Holman had captured the title, his first of the season.

Action was hot as defending Albuquerque Champion Mitch Bowen driving the Chrysler-powered Fiat ‘Rust Bucket’ looked good into the semifinals.


The Outlaw Door Slammer title went to Ben’s Automotive driven by Arthur Cordova, while in the hotly contested Super Pro bracket; Danny Dean from El Paso got the win.

Dean not only had one of the best looking cars at the event, he also jumped in to help keep things organized in the staging area for the track. Then he drove the Dodge Daytona to the biggest bracket win of the night!


official sponsors

 © 1999-2017 - and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy